The XX - XX



Tracklist Hide Credits
A1    Intro    2:08
A2    VCR    2:57
A3    Crystalised    3:22
A4    Islands    2:41
A5    Heart Skipped A Beat    4:02
A6    Hot Like Fire
Music By, Lyrics By – M. Elliott*, T. Mosley* 3:34

B1    Fantasy    2:38
B2    Shelter    4:30
B3    Basic Space    3:08
B4    Infinity    5:13
B5    Night Time    3:37
B6    Stars    4:23


    Label : XL Recordings

    Includes bonus track "Hot Like Fire" and free mp3 download.


    2009 vinyl LP pressing. This British group released this debut album when they were just in their early twenties-a considerable feat, given just how fully-formed and polished this album is. Their influences include everything from post-punk to dream pop to indie to dubstep to R&B pop, but that doesn't mean any of their songs are scattered: in fact, they're so sleek they're almost sculptural. "Intro" is a long, monochromatic symphony, and it sets the cool, evocative feel The xx will come to be known for. "VCR" has clangy guitars reminiscent of the Young Marble Giants, while "Infinity" is a slip into the post-punk. There's a subtle sensuality here, there's romantic intrigue. It's a one-of-a-kind, memorable debut that proves The xx as one of the most important Brit indie groups to surface in recent years, and it'll leave you wanting more. Ais/Young Turks/XL.


2019 by Vinyl Thirty3